Day 27: Vegan Brownies

Brownies

A while ago I was given a recipe for Vegan Brownies and since we were off visiting friends in the afternoon I thought it was time to road test it. Now just to let you know, I haven’t baked a lot in the past – I’m quite good at cooking dinners and savoury things in general but since neither myself nor Jayson have particularly sweet tooths (teeth?) I haven’t baked often enough to become accomplished at it. Oh well, never too late to start I say:) I do LOVE a good brownie though, so I was keen to give this a whirl. The recipe called for semi-sweet dark chocolate but sadly I could only get a really dark dairy free chocolate when I went shopping for the ingredients – and I realised just now that I only added 1/4 cup of sugar instead of half (oops).  On the up side, the brownies were lovely and moist (yay I didn’t over cook them) and had a good overall  texture to them. So here’s the recipe:

1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 and ¼ cup semisweet vegan chocolate chips (pref. fairtrade)
1 large banana mashed
2 tablespoons of cocoa
1/4 cup soy milk
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 and ¼ cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup slivered almonds (plus extra to scatter on top)

1. Preheat the oven to 170 deg Celsius
2. Microwave the chocolate then stir the oil into the melted chocolate. Pour chocolate mixture into a mixing bowl and add remaining ingredients.
3. Spoon the brownie mix into a greased pan and top with almonds (I used a fairly small square cake tin for this).
4. Bake them for 15 minutes, until a cake tester or toothpick comes out clean when inserted into cake.  Be careful not to over-bake them because they’ll be dry and flaky.
5. Allow to cool before removing from tin, slicing up and serving.

Brownies

Brownies

Ready to go!

All in all, almost a success – next time I will put in the right amount of sugar! Thanks Diana, for the recipe 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 27: Vegan Brownies

Leave a Reply

