Vegan Challenge wrap up: It’s easy being green!

Green Apples

Well, time sure flies when you’re having fun! I have now officially been a vegan for 31 days. They say it takes around 3 weeks to form a habit and judging by how normal it feels to be eating this way now, I would have to agree. The thought of eating eggs and dairy is now quite strange and I have done so well without these foods that re-introducing them seems somewhat pointless.

It’s been a very rewarding month in many ways including

  • starting this blog and seeing the number of visitors grow on a daily basis, so I’m not just talking to myself anymore 😉
  • making new ethically minded friends online from all parts of the world while discovering a whole community of individuals on the same path and sharing the journey via blogs and online forums, in particular the VeganEasy forum. I am looking forward to meeting some of these lovely people face to face in the future
  • Realising that a lot’s changed in the past 15 years since I was last a vegetarian – there are so many more options in terms of good quality natural products to supplement my diet and a wide range of vegetarian options at regular restaurants, as well as a growing number dedicated to a vegetarian menu; gone are the days of being served up a bowl of steamed veggies with a cheese sauce on top!
  • Learning to be more inquisitive about exactly what is in that can of soup I pick up at the supermarket or in that “vegetarian” pasta at a restaurant.
  • Feeling less bloated and having more energy in general despite having a few minor ailments this month. I even managed to drop a couple of unwanted kilos along the way. Bonus!

I am looking forward to the journey of discovery ahead. Whilst I am sure that I will remain a vegetarian for the rest of my days  I cannot expect everyone else to follow the same path, although I am happy to give a gentle nudge in that direction whenever possible. I am also a realist and understand that not everyone sees things the same way. My best option moving forward is to research and present the most ethical options for meaties and veggies alike. It’s been a steep learning curve and I feel that I have only just scratched the surface so far, so I hope you’ll stay with me for the ride 🙂

4 thoughts on “Vegan Challenge wrap up: It’s easy being green!

  1. When I first found your blog (and saw the vegan brownies), I had no idea this blog was new and something you undertook as a vegan challenge. Congratulations! This is probably one of the most positive reactions I’ve heard about taking a food challenge like this. For me, it was super easy becoming vegan as well. : )

Leave a Reply

